I had to run into the local Whole Foods store on NE 15th
and Fremont last week, and while it’s not a locally owned store, I
have to say, it was pretty impressive to see a whole shelf
dedicated almost exclusively to locally roasted coffee. There were
a number of my faves, like Ristretto, TrailheadCellar Door, and Portland
Roasting
. They even had Allan Brothers from down the I-5 corridor, a blast from my college days past.And  there were also some new names I’d love to try — like Lone Pine Coffee out of Bend and Water Avenue Coffee right here in Portland.

If you want to support Portland’s artisan economy, and particularly our burgeoning coffee roasting community, check it out this season. New Seasons has a similar, though not as comprehensive, offering.

In fact, two of our larger independent roasters made it into Charles Heying’s recently released book, “Brew to Bikes: Portland’s Artisan Economy,” which features a number of local artisan businesses, from coffee and chocolate to beer and bikes.

